Will Ladybugs Control Aphids?

KODAK Digital Still Camera
1500 Ladybugs!

If it isn’t weeds you are battling during the growing season, it is the darn bugs. A couple of years ago we had a huge issue with bees. Well, technically, the problem started with aphids that brought the bees. Now, we have always had issues with aphids in the orchard, but 2 years ago, our maple tree became a giant bee hive, because of aphids. It was incredible! There were hundreds of bees swarming the thing and it became extremely dangerous. We had to call in pest control professionals.

Now, I don’t particularly care to use chemicals in or around the house, but we were desperate. Our dogs were getting stung and I was worried the kids were going to be attacked. When the pest guy came out, he was amazed to see the problem. Apparently, our maple tree was ground zero for a battle between bald-faced hornets and German yellow jackets. He told us the problem stemmed from the aphids on the tree. I was oblivious to the problem. Yes, there were a ton of leaves on the ground, but I assumed it was from the kids knocking them down or something. He pointed out the fact the leaves were shiny, which was the honeydew aphids release that attracts the bees.

KODAK Digital Still Camera
Maples leaves on ground

Fast forward to this spring and once again, I woke up one morning to leaves all over the ground beneath the tree. I went out to do an inspection and sure enough, those darn aphids were all over the place! I grabbed the hose and spray nozzle and shot as many of those aphids as I could see and reach. A spray of water will knock them off, but if you can’t get to the branches, that method is only going to get you so far.

Last year, I had read about ladybugs as natural pest control. We used them in the orchard and on the other side of the property where we have willow trees that are aphid magnets. I bought 1 bag of 1500 ladybugs. Waited until evening and then released them. Not only was it pretty ineffective, I was absolutely creeped out. That is a lot of ladybugs flying around!

KODAK Digital Still Camera
Aphids on back of maple leaf

This year, I bought another 1500 ladybugs specifically for the maple tree. This time, I was told to spray them with a 50/50 solution of sugar and water. I didn’t want to use one of my spray bottles (I am that cheap) so I mixed the solution in a jar and then doused the bag (its net). Probably not my best idea and if I buy another round of ladybugs, I will spend the dollar and buy a spray bottle. I was a sticky mess and the bugs were essentially paralyzed by my sugar treatment.

This time, I shook the ladybugs onto the branches of the tree. They quickly found the aphids and I hope they do their thing and save my tree! At our co-op, the ladybugs are $8 for 1500, which to me is a heck of a deal if it works.

Check your plants and trees often and make sure the tiny bugs don’t destroy all of your hard work!
Update #1—12 hours after releasing the ladybugs on the maple tree—I can’t find any! However, I did put some on a cherry tree that is afflicted with aphids and those lil guys are still there.

Leave a comment